Future of Legal Gateways, and New Article on Hiring Temporary Foreign Workers

Hi everyone,

You may have noticed that Legal Gateways has not been updated in a little while, and I am pleased to finally be able to announce why that is. I have been asked to become the editor of Norton Rose Fulbright’s employment and labour law blog, Global Workplace Insider, for articles from Canada outside of Quebec. Employment and labour law articles by lawyers from our Toronto, Ottawa and Calgary offices, edited by me, will be posted approximately every two weeks … alongside blog posts from employment lawyers across the globe.

I am excited to have posted earlier today the first article under my new tenure, by my colleague Caylee Rieger. It is about recent changes to Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program, and you can read it here.

What does this mean for Legal Gateways? Since I will be focusing my legal blogging efforts on Global Workplace Insider, I will no longer be updating this blog on legal topics (I will still keep this blog active for a few weeks and link to our new articles).

In light of that, I’ve decided that the other side of Legal Gateways — creative writing — is deserving of a separate blog or website, which I will work on establishing over the next little while. Gateways, the novel, has now been through a second round of edits with my professional editor, and within weeks it will be in a final format. I will then need to decide what to do with it: whether to self-publish it, as had been the plan all along, or whether instead to submit it for publication through more traditional routes. In either case, a new website will probably be a key piece of the promotional puzzle, but the timing may be different depending which option I choose. I’ve also started working on a second creative writing project, which is still in very early stages.

Thanks everyone for reading, and please visit the Global Workplace Insider blog!

Leave a Reply

